AC Milan win Serie A title for first time in 11 years after beating Sassuolo

AC Milan last won the Serie A title under current Juventus manager Massimilano Allegri

AC Milan won their 19th Serie A title, but the first in 11 years by riding to victory in Sassuolo.

Rossoneri fans were initially unhappy at Stefano Pioli’s appointment in 2019 as he previously led rival Inter, but he was the mastermind behind this two-point success over his former club.

Olivier Giroud scored twice and Franck Kessie once, as Milan won easily.

Inter defeated Sampdoria 3-0 on the final day, but Simone Inzaghi’s men couldn’t deny their city rivals.

Napoli finished third after a 3-0 win over Spezia, while Juventus ended their disappointing season under Massimiliano Allegri – who won the title with Milan in 2010-11 – by finishing fourth but qualifying for next season’s Champions League .

Pioli brings glory days back

Milan has suffered more than a decade of disappointment since the title for Allegri in 2011, but Italy’s Pioli has brought back the glory days.

Former Serie A players such as Clarence Seedorf, Filippo Inzaghi, Sinisa Mihajlovic, Vincenzo Montella and Gennaro Gattuso have all since tried to revive the former European champions.

Veteran striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic was part of that last Milan side to win Serie A and at the age of 40 he raised the trophy with the club for the second time.

By winning the title, midfielder Daniel Maldini follows in the footsteps of his father Paolo Maldini, who won seven league titles with Milan, and grandfather Cesare Maldini with four.



Formation 4-3-3

  • 47Consiglicis replaced bysatalinoBee 82′minutes
  • 17Muldur
  • 5Ayhan
  • 31Ferrariis replaced byPelusoBee 82′minutes
  • 77KyriakopoulosBooked at 53 minutes
  • 16Frattesiais replaced byTraoreBee 58′minutes
  • 8LopezBooked at 37minsis replaced bymagnanelliBee 45′minutes
  • 97de Souza
  • 25Berardicis replaced bydefrelBee 68′minutes
  • 91scamcca
  • 18raspadori


  • 4magnanelli
  • 6Oliveira da Silva
  • 10Djuricic
  • 11ciervo
  • 13Peluso
  • 15Ceide
  • 21Chiriches
  • 23Traore
  • 24satalino
  • 44Tressoldi Net
  • 56pegoloid
  • 92defrel

AC Milan

Formation 4-2-3-1

  • 16Maignan
  • 2Calabria
  • 20Kalulu
  • 23Tomoriis replaced byRomagnoliBee 81′minutes
  • 19Hernandez
  • 8TonalBooked at 34minsis replaced bybennacerBee 45′minutes
  • 79kessie
  • 56Saelemaekersis replaced byFlorenciaBee 81′minutes
  • 33Krunicis replaced bydiazBee 72′minutes
  • 17da Conceição Leão
  • 9Giroudis replaced byIbrahimovicBee 72′minutes


  • 1Tatarusu
  • 4bennacer
  • 5Ballo-Toure
  • 10diaz
  • 11Ibrahimovic
  • 12Rebic
  • 13Romagnoli
  • 25Florencia
  • 30Messiah
  • 41Bakayoko
  • 46Gabbia
  • 83Mirante

live text

Around the BBC iPlayer bannerAround the BBC iPlayer footer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.